testing one’s limits and going beyond comfort zones

 

i believe that one should always go past their boundaries if they really want to achieve something – because you really have to put yourself out there if you want to get something worthy in return. it’s like this: you expose yourself to the vast opportunities the world offers all around you, and you give and show them your grandest efforts and prove the world that you are capable of doing many things, and in return the world will show its gratitude by giving you worldly rewards. you shouldn’t be afraid of going out into the world, even though, yes, it can be quite nerve-wracking. and, you shouldn’t hesitate, you should go all out. it doesn’t matter what you believe you can or cannot do, or even what others believe you can and cannot do because everyone has the potential to do many a great thing. we just have to really push ourselves, be spontaneous and free ourselves from our own limitations.

i think a fine example of going beyond my comfort zone would be the time i participated in a pageant for the first time in my life, and, being a shy, lame girl like me, i wasn’t too enthusiastic about participating. however, a push here and there from my friends helped me give it a shot. it was the mr. and ms. teen sgen of 2015 that i had participated in, and regardless of my ‘weirdness’ around people, everyone thought i was pretty friendly which actually changed my view on how they think of me because they gave me the ms. congeniality award. to add to that, being on stage in front of many at such an event brought my legs to shake like a dog, but i kept my head real high because the thrill was enthralling.

after every passing through the stage with different outfits and props held about, i felt comfortable with the whole pageant thing going on. however, by the end of the event, where questioning and answering was about to take place, i began to reach my peak levels of anxiety and got really flustered while answering the question given to me. that, in itself, was a tragic and embarrassing mistake for myself, however i was still down to top three which was more than i could have ever asked for. by the end of the pageant, i won 2nd runner up and went home smiling as i imagined myself as a barbie doll in my sparkling purple gown and bedazzled ms. teen sgen tiara. my participation in the pageant was a successful and heart-warming experience that i will forever treasure and laugh about with friends and family knowing that i will never participate in any pageant ever again!

 

an example of me testing my limits would be me trying out for football. i did pass and got in with the team, but i still wasn’t very good at football. i could kick the ball and pass it normally my whole life until they told me that i should kick it and pass it a certain way, then – i couldn’t kick it to the goal properly at all, which made me nervous and angry. when my coach asked me to do five laps around the whole field for the first time, i was so scared because i knew i couldn’t do it without taking a few breaks in intervals and panting so much. i knew my stamina wasn’t up to fit standards, but after a few laps around the field, and my being tired as hell, legs burning, and sweating too much, i kept running and running. i ran faster than my teammates, and i ran without thinking—looking at the trees, the clouds, and the grass, and seeing how calmly they sway and move with the wind, peacefully. and by then i had made even six laps and tired myself more than i thought i could. and i brought my stamina up, i could breathe normally again, i could run better.

i could tell myself, “i did it.”